Recognition for Service

Rotary District 6970 has a history of strong support to Our Rotary Foundation and at times, specific individuals have been recognized for their leadership and direction in accomplishing the goals and direction of the District.

Citation for Meritorious Service

rotarians changing livesThe Citation for Meritorious Service recognizes individual Rotarians who have demonstrated outstanding active service to The Rotary Foundation for more than one year. Examples of eligible service include, but are not limited to:

  • Service on Foundation committees at the club, district, or international level
  • Participation in Foundation grants or programs
  • Support of Ambassadorial Scholars, Rotary Peace Fellows, Group Study Exchange teams, or vocational training teams.

Financial contributions to the Foundation, however notable, are not relevant considerations for this award.


An individual may receive this award only once. Any active Rotarian in good standing may be nominated, with the exception of current and incoming district governors, current and incoming RI directors, and current Foundation trustees.

Citation for Meritorious Service Recipients
Chester Yates Gainesville 1983-1984
William Hill, Jr. Ponte Vedra Beach 1994-1995
William Moredock Arlington 1995-1996
Wilson Smith Mandarin 1997-1998
John Callender South Jacksonville 1999-2000
David Harrill Jacksonville Oceanside 2004-2005
E. Travis York Gainesville 2006-2007
Thomas Grimes
Jacksonville 2008-2009
D. Brent Williams
Gainesville 2009-2010
Howard Kelley Jacksonville 2012-2013
James Kenneth Baker
West Jacksonville 2013-2014
Cynthia (Cynde) Covington
Southpoint 2014-2015
Russell Miller Palatka Sunrise 2015-2016
Art MacQueen Flagler Beach 2016-2017
William (Bill) Griffin Daytona Beach West 2017-2018
Marshall Butler West Jacksonville 2019-2020


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the Foundation’s highest service recognition and is given to Rotarians
who have demonstrated exemplary service to the Foundation.



Recipients must have received the
Citation for Meritorious Service at least four years prior to be eligible for this award.

Distinguished Service Award Recipients
Chester Yates Gainesville 1993-1994
William Moredock Arlington 2002-2003
Wilson Smith Mandarin 2002-2003
D. Brent Williams Gainesville 2014-2015
Thomas Grimes Jacksonville 2016-2017
Ken Baker West Jacksonville 2019-2020


International Service Award for a Polio Free World

This Award recognizes outstanding contributions to our polio erradication efforts. Each year, up to 10 international awards are given to people whose work has had a widespread impact.


Requires nomination by a Rotarian for this highly competitive award.  Only 10 are honored in any given Rotary year.


International Service Award for a Polio Free World
Cynthia Covington Southpoint 2013-2014